The Super Bowl is probably the largest event in the US following the 4th of July.  It has become an annual and time-honored “tradition” of men, women and children.  Families gather with friends in their homes, at local social clubs, bars and some, even in their churches (Oh, no!)

A seemingly “innocent” way to spend your time, it truly isn’t. More about that in the next post on idolatry.  But, here’s the kicker, for me and for many others.   I used to participate.  At home, with family, and many years ago at the Elks club with my deceased husband.   At one point, one of the wives, said, “Let’s go shopping!”  Great idea!

IMG_20150126_163523Over the years, The Lord Has Taught me many things.  Today, I look at the game and see the dangers to our eternal souls inherent in it.  More, the “thrills” are fleeting, and, at what price?  If it takes me away from The Lord, or causes distance between us, I won’t touch it.  It’s more important to me to “lay up treasures in Heaven,” and spend my energies on things that have an eternal significance than let the pleasures of the world consume me.  Not that enjoying myself is wrong!

In 2014, He Gave me the idea for the Super Bowl Prayer Party.  “Patty, gather My people to pray.”  I became aware of the pitfalls of participating in “normal” SB activities.  I also became aware of the levels of human trafficking that surround such an event.  God Opened my eyes to see. Then, I went on and found out about the little children in our country, abducted or discarded who make their daily way by turning tricks.  My God!  My heart is forever changed!

In the end, I look at it this way:

I’d rather spend my time praying and doing deliverance, which will hopefully make a difference in a lot of lives, than have a fleeting thrill.  

One life changed, is worth whatever time it takes in prayer.

MAKE A DIFFERENCE!

Let every moment be prayer and praise!

Patty Thomas, Founder

Super Bowl Prayer Party
The Miracles Of Jesus Ministry
Worldwide Waves Of Praise Movement